top of page


Requirements to vote:

  • 18 years old on or by Election Day.

  • US citizen.

  • Resident of Louisiana.

  • Not be incarcerated for a felony, or not have been incarcerated due to a felony within the last 5 years.

  • Not be under the judgement of mental incompetence.

How do I register?

  • In the state of Louisiana, you can register to vote online, via mail, or in person.

  • To register online, fill out the form at: You must have a Louisiana driver’s license or Louisiana ID. If you do not have one, you must print and mail your form according to the instructions for registering via mail.

    • The deadline to register online is 20 days before Election Day.

  • To register via mail, fill out the form and mail it to your local Registrar of Voters office. You can find the form at: You can also use the national form, which can be found at: A list of Registrar of Voters offices can be found at:

    • The deadline to register via mail is 30 days before Election Day. Your forms must be postmarked by the deadline.

  • To register in person, go to your local Registrar of Voters office, which can be found at If you are registering at a Registrar of Voters office, you must show proof of age, residence, and identity. You must use a driver’s license or Louisiana ID if you have one. If not, you can use your Social Security Number, a birth certificate, a photo ID, a utility bill, a payroll check, or a government document that shows your name and address.

    • You can also register to vote at a DMV, the Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services, WIC offices, food stamp offices, Medicaid offices, offices serving the disabled, or Armed Forces recruitment offices.

    • The deadline to register in person is 30 days before Election Day.

  • You do not have to indicate a party affiliation when you register, but you must do so if you want to vote in the primary election.

  • If you legally change your name, you must file a copy of the court order with the Registrar of Voters office. If you want to change your party affiliation or if you move to a new parish in Louisiana, you must re-register. If you move out of Louisiana, you must cancel your registration by filling out this form: and mailing it to your Registrar of Voters office.

Can I pre-register?

  • You can pre-register if you are 16 or 17, but you must be 18 on the day of the election. If you are 16 years old, you can only pre-register in person at the Registrar of Voters Office or a DMV.

bottom of page